We are Wolves

We Are Wolves :HarperCollins Australia

Liesel, Otto and Mia are part of a happy family. “Hitler is a Toad!” Otto would yell. Mia would rub porridge and mash potato in her hair while Leisel was quiet. She knew what was wrong and what was right. One day their father had to go to war against the Russian army. But when they get the news that he is missing they have to pack their bags and flee their home in East Prussia. 

Liesel, Otto and Mia eventually find themselves lost…alone… in a cold stormy blizzard in the middle of a war zone. Liesel needs to keep her siblings safe but she struggles to be able to even feed them.

They have to do wild things. Adventurous things and dangerous things. To survive they must become wolves. 

“This is one of the most heartwarming and intriguing books I have ever read. It reminds me that a family must stick together and work together to build their relationships and find a home. It helps me remember that I must be a role model to my younger siblings and to all my friends because there are always situations where you have to become a wolf.” 

By guest blogger Gabrielle Orr

Leave a comment